Five Most Recent Entries
Remembering - April 03, 2006
10 Months - January 20, 2006
9 Months - December 16, 2005
7 Months - October 18, 2005
Six Months! - September 13, 2005


List All Archives

Lilypie Baby Ticker

32 weeks January 07, 2005

Our baby is due in less than two months! I tell myself this several times everyday attempting to make it sink in, but this miracle just doesn't seem real...

A lot has happened since I last wrote here. I am now 21-years-old, and it is officially the year 2005--the year our baby will be born. I uploaded some pictures from my birthday dinner so you can all see how round I am now. Click here to see me with my husband's family. This picture is me with my sister. And last but not least: Here is a blurry shot of me with my mom.

For my birthday, my family bought me a gift certificate to Home Depot so I could buy paint to paint our bedroom, then Rachel promised to come help me paint once I decided which color I wanted to go with. Well, I had mentioned painting the room khaki or tan to Jason at one point so Jason was quite surprised to discover that we had actually painted it "Wild Manzanita" which is just a fancy name for the color of raspberry jam. Personally, I think the color turned out really nicely, but Jason says it's going to take some getting used to.

Our bedroom is the biggest bedroom either of us has ever had in our lives and it used to be painted white. I wanted the room to look warm and cozy, so that's why I picked the dark color. I've uploaded a before picture. And not one but two after pictures. It sure feels good to have the room finished to my liking especially since there is a good chance I will spend most if not all of my labor in our bedroom.

Last month, my mom and my sister, Rachel, helped me register at Target for the baby shower. I did a lot of research on baby products ahead of time so registering went quite smoothly. The baby shower is officially scheduled for Saturday, February 12th. We decided it would be easiest to have the shower at a hotel, so mom reserved a hospitality/meeting room at the Doublewood Inn in Fargo. I'm hoping everyone will be able to make it. It should be lots of fun. If you want to check out our registry online, the link is:

http://www.target.com/gp/registry/babyreg.html/601-0290554-0913708?

You can type in my first and lastname and it should come right up.

While we were registering for baby stuff, we came across a few items that were on sale and likely wouldn't be available once our little Munchkimo is here. So we have a little snowsuit and the most adorable froggy outfit for when our baby is first born. The froggy outfit is actually a premie size, but I'm pretty sure it will fit nicely at first and it's even got a little hat with froggy eyes on it. I can't wait to put our tiny baby into that outfit. I take the outfit out of the dresser sometimes and cuddle it--I'm so anxious to hold my baby for the first time.

My family came over for dinner last Sunday. It's the first time they've come over for dinner since we moved in to our house last August. Since I had such a bad cold, I was relieved when they offered to bring chicken linguini. They also surprised us by bringing a crib for the baby. It's much nicer than any of the cribs we'd seen while we were checking around for the baby registry and Jason and Karl, my step-dad, were able to get it all put together in less than an hour, no tools required. When the time comes, the crib can be converted into a toddler bed or a loveseat. I love having the crib in the nursery. For some reason, it just makes it seem so much easier to picture a baby in there.

We haven't made much progress in the baby names department. Jason rarely likes the names I suggest and I typically think the names he suggests are too common. But we have added the name "Benjamin" to the list. I think it's our top pick at this point, but we'll see.

Over christmas weekend, Jason and I visited family in Northern Minnesota. We had thought we would be avoiding any uncomfortable situations by visiting later on the 25th--after all the gifts had been given. But as it turned out we ended up being there while everyone was exchanging gifts and we felt quite awkward since we don't celebrate christmas. I did get the opportunity to go swimming for a bit afterwards though. That was nice. And the next day, Jason and I enjoyed some good fellowship with my mom and step-dad and my Auntie Susie and Uncle Frank.

Also, since my sister was gone snowboarding on the 26th of December, I was able to take charge of entertaining my cousin Christian while the rest of the adults studied. It was fun playing with him and teaching him how to entertain himself by using his imagination. We pretended to be bears and made a "cave" by draping a blanket over some furniture. Of course, I felt a little silly crawling around on the floor especially with my big belly, but oh well. My confidence was boosted by being able to successfully entertain a four-year-old.

After finding out about the tsunami, Jason and I talked about how we feel about bringing a child into this world. If we weren't believers, I think we'd be pretty scared. It will be interesting to observe the way the earth changes over our child's lifetime. I can't find the verse, but I remember reading a verse in Scripture that compares the earth to a woman in labor...I wonder what that will be like?

Our midwife is scheduled to visit on January 10th. I'm curious to find out if she thinks the baby has turned to a head down position or not. I had a terrible, terrible cold the beginning of this month and every time I would go into a coughing fit our little baby would start kicking up a storm--he moved around so much during that time that I really began to wonder how he could possibly manage to find room to flip around like that. Now that my cough is subsiding, I haven't felt the baby flip over, so maybe the baby has already found the right position.

From now until the baby is born, I will be meeting with the midwife twice a month. At this point, I'm more concerned with how Jason will handle the birth than with how I will handle it. I've done a considerable amount of research and read a lot of true stories about homebirths online, so I think I have a fairly good idea what to expect. I know that every woman labors differently, I am not afraid of the pain, and I've got a few ideas about what might help me to remain relaxed, but more importantly, I trust that the Lord will guide this baby into our arms.

I'm sure there are things I was going to write about that I'm forgetting, but Jason has tempted me to go grocery shopping earlier than I'd planned by enticing me with McDonalds for dinner. A little advice you might someday need: all you ever have to say to a stubborn pregnant woman to change her mind is McDonalds.

Links
15 wk Ultrasound
23 wk Ultrasound
Nursery Pic
Dad's Baby Pic







Powered By Diaryland