Five Most Recent Entries
Remembering - April 03, 2006
10 Months - January 20, 2006
9 Months - December 16, 2005
7 Months - October 18, 2005
Six Months! - September 13, 2005


List All Archives

Lilypie Baby Ticker

15.75 weeks September 16, 2004

The past week has gone really well. I've had no morning sickness and tons of energy, and I was even able to cook meals for my husband and his cousin over the weekend. We also watched my family's doggies over the weekend which was fun. On Monday It was nice to be able to get laundry done before it became overwhelming.

I checked out a great book from the public library last week. It has been very fun to read. The title is, Babycatcher, Chronicles of a Modern Midwife, by Peggy Vincent. There are several cheerful stories of homebirth in the book.

The only downside to the past week was the kidney pain that I experienced last Saturday evening. I've experienced pain like this in the past but always assumed it was the result of kidney stones so I never visited the doctor for the problem. Knowing that a kidney infection could be very harmful to our baby, however, I decided not to take a chance and to go into the emergency room just to be sure I didn't have an infection.

Of course, the doctor didn't find an infection, but nevertheless, I somehow managed to leave the emergency room with a prescription for two drugs. So I went home feeling perturbed after being scolded by the doctor for losing twenty pounds and not being on a prenatal vitamin. And instead of filling the prescriptions, I decided to give my midwife a call. When she wasn't home, I left a message then called my mother-in-law who was quite sympathetic and told me not to worry about the weightloss as she had experienced the same thing during her pregnancy with her youngest son and he was just fine.

When our midwife called back the next day, I explained to her that I had experienced kidney pain and had blood in my urine, but that no infection was found. I also told her that on Monday I was planning to schedule an appointment for an ultrasound on my kidneys. She thought that was a good plan and also thought I should wait to go on prenatal vitamins until she could bring me the prenatal vitamins she recommends as she believes they are more beneficial than the synthetic vitamins the ER doctor had given me a prescription for.

So on Monday, Jason and I saw a local Obstetrician who tried to hide his surprise when we told him we were planning a homebirth, but at least he wasn't pushy like the ER doctor. He suggested I have an ultrasound done on my kidneys and asked if we'd like to have an ultrasound done to see our baby at the same time. I'd been planning to schedule an ultrasound through the Doctor I was seeing in Pelican Rapids anyway, so we agreed to do that.

We had the ultrasound yesterday. I'm not sure what the ultrasound technician saw on my kidneys (she's not allowed to talk about it except to the doctor), but I know I spent the whole day feeling ecstatic after getting to see our baby. I had Jason hook up the scanner during his lunchbreak yesterday afternoon so I could scan and upload the pictures we got. You can take a look at them here:

http://jcaus.diaryland.com/images/babypics.jpg

The first picture is a 3D ultrasound, but because our baby would have to hold still for a few second in order for a decent photo to be captured, getting a good shot was nearly impossible. Our little baby wiggled and wiggled the whole time. It was amazing. I felt like I could lay there all day just watching our baby. Much to his dismay, Jason got light headed again just like he did when we heard the baby's heartbeat for the first time. Again he tried to explain it away as being a result of not having had breakfast, but I reminded him that he never eats breakfast and he just shrugged and continued eating the sucker he'd found in my purse. His friend Jeremiah offered to buy him a five pound bag of suckers for when I go into labor. :-)

Links
15 wk Ultrasound
23 wk Ultrasound
Nursery Pic
Dad's Baby Pic

www.babycatcher.net







Powered By Diaryland